14th Annual International Intellectual Property Law Moot

Thursday 17 March - Saturday 19 March 2016

Please contact the Moot Secretary: [moot@oiprc.ox.ac.uk]if you would like to be added to our moot mailing list.

We will tweet Moot news and reminders on our Twitter account, @OxIPMoot




Registration has now closed

Thursday 19th – Saturday 21nd March 2015

The Oxford Intellectual Property Research Centre (OIPRC) is delighted to announce arrangements for the 2015 Oxford International Intellectual Property Law Moot, and invites universities from around the world to enter the competition.

The focus of the 2015 hypothetical is on breach of confidence and patent infringement, and is set in the agricultural biotechnology sector.

Participation in the oral rounds is by invitation only, on the basis of two written submissions prepared by teams wishing to compete. These submissions (of 3,000 words each) must be submitted by Friday 12 December 2014. Invitations will be issued in mid-January 2015.

The registration fee includes Moot participation and social events such as the Friday night Conversazione and dinner, and Saturday night formal dinner. Only those teams who are invited to the oral proceedings will be required to pay the registration fee, which will be due in early February 2015. Teams will be responsible for their own accommodation costs and for travel to and from the Moot – although we will be able to arrange excellent rates for teams to stay at our host college, Pembroke College. Teams may bring a coach and/or observer (for an additional fee). Details about the fees will be released in the Moot Rules in September 2014.

The oral proceedings will comprise four preliminary rounds, Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and a Grand Final. Teams may comprise two or three students, with any two team members speaking in any given moot. The Grand Final is always held before senior members of the judiciary; in 2014, the bench was Lord Justice Kitchin, Lord Justice Floyd and Mr Justice Birss.

This year’s participants:

  • Boston University School of Law
  • Bucerius Law School
  • Cardiff University
  • Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, RMLNLU
  • Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main
  • ILS Pune
  • King’s College London
  • Monash University
  • National Law School of India University, (NLSIU)
  • National Law University, Delhi
  • National Law University Odisha
  • National University of Singapore (NUS)
  • Osgoode Hall Law School
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • QUT Law | Queensland University of Technology
  • Rutgers University School of Law
  • The University of British Columbia
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Hong Kong
  • University of Ottawa
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of Windsor

If you would like further information about the Moot, or to be added to our moot mailing list, please contact the Moot Secretary: [moot@oiprc.ox.ac.uk]. We will tweet Moot news and reminders on our Twitter account, @OxIPMoot

The Problem and Rules are available on the 'Problem' and 'Rules' pages.

*Please note that corrections and clarifications to the 2015 Problem have now been released: 2015 Corrections and Clarifications*

View report on the 2013 IP moot

View past reports


The Law Faculty and the OIPRC are grateful to the following for making the Oxford IP Moot possible:

8 New Square
OUP Powell Gilbert
Hart Publishing Darts-IP Edward Elgar Publishing

CUP Henry Carr QC

© Faculty of Law :: image credits & permissions
page updated on 18 August 2015 at 11:18
Feedback on this page

a centre of the faculty of law at the university of oxford